Alexis Guerin slips into the mountain jersey of the Istrian Spring Trophy in Croatia!

Alexis Guerin slips into the mountain jersey of the Istrian Spring Trophy in Croatia – Team Vorarlberg loses yellow today, but tomorrow again “all in” for Fortin!


After the great victory of Filippo Fortin yesterday, today was hard work. Because after the heavy crashes of Colin Stüssi, Roland Thalmann and Alexis Guerin half of the team was damaged. All riders were able to start the race, but with pain. Today’s stage was quite hard with a mountain finish after 165 kilometers.


“Team Vorarlberg Express” 120 kilometers from the front – Guerin climbs into the mountain jersey of the Tour!

As befits a team in the “yellow” jersey, all six riders around leader Fortin took team dictation of the stage and plowed ahead of the peloton. In the finale, the peloton splintered. Adria Moreno and Alexis Guerin are able to keep up with the leaders. Guerin takes numerous mountain points and takes over the overall mountain classification before the final stage!


In the fight for the day’s victory, Moreno and Guerin had to let their rivals go. Guerin complained of pain from yesterday’s fall. He finishes 20th in the stage, 23 seconds behind. The victory today, as well as the overall lead, goes to Italian Filippo Zana (Bardiani CSF). Savva Novikov (RUS/Kern Pharma) is second, Fisher Black Finn (AUS/Jumbo Visma Devo) third.


Alexis Guerin: “There would have been a lot in it for the overall classification. But if you are not 100% fit, then you have to accept this. Also my ailing team mates Thalmann and Stüssi fought great and finished the race. THEN we want to give everything again tomorrow for Filippo Fortin should it come to a sprint. I will try to bring my mountain jersey to Umag. Then we can be satisfied with our performance here in Croatia!”

Stage overview:

11.03. Prolog Umag – 1 km

12.03. Funtana – Porec – 168 Km

13.03. Vizinada – Motovun – 165 km

14.03. Marcana – Umag – 143 km




Squad 18. Istrian Spring Trophy UCI 2.2: Alexis Guerin, Johannes Schinnagel, Roland Thalmann, Colin Stüssi, Filippo Fortin, Adria Moreno;