Lukas Meiler provides again today for a super strong Team Vorarlberg presence at the CRO Race UCI 2.1

Copyright photos Team Vorarlberg / according to specification

 Lukas Meiler provides again today for a super strong Team Vorarlberg presence at the CRO Race UCI 2.1

Off to the sea today the motto on the occasion of the second stage with start in Otocac. The destination today revealed the wonderful Mediterranean coast around Zadar, today’s destination.

Immediately after the start of the 163 kilometer long stage, Lukas Meiler was able to successfully break away from the field with a leading group. Together with his five “work colleagues”, the 27-year-old from germany fought back vehemently against the catching of the peloton around Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) and Thomas Geraint (Ineos-Grenadiers). Meiler won the last sprint classification just before Zadar, ten kilometers before the finish they were put back.

Stage winner in the technically difficult final through the old town of Zadar the overall leader Jonathan Milan of Bahrain-Victorios. Thus, the Italian defends the overall lead.

Second the Frenchman Pierre Barbier (B&B Hotels) ahead of Elia Viviani (ITA / Ineos-Grenadiers). Mathias Reutimann is 36th today in the sprint, but safe over the line was more important today, because the focus is on stage four and five for the climbs.

Tomorrow, Thursday, the roadbook offers the route from Sinj to Primosten over 157 kilometers and 1500 meters of altitude.

Stage overview:

1st stage 27.9. / Osijek – Ludbreg / 223.5 km 710 m

2nd stage 28.9. / Otočac – Zadar / 163 km 1170 m

3rd stage 29.9. / Sinj – Primošten / 157 km 1505 m

4th stage 30.9. / Biograd na Moru – Crikvenica / 219 km 2050 m

5th stage 1.10. / Opatija – Labin / 154 km 2920 m

6th stage 2.10. / Sveta Nedelja – Zagreb / 158 km 720 m

CRO RACE LIVE: All stages will be broadcasted live daily from 3 p.m. on Eurosport 1.


Start list:

Squad: Linus Stari, Roland Thalmann, Alexis Guerin, Dominik Amann, Lukas Meiler, Mathias Reutimann;

 Press Service Team Vorarlberg