Right through to the finals!

But then went “explose” on the fourth stage of the ŠKODA Tour de Luxembourg!

 Johannes Schinnagel with Arnaud Demare up and away!

After the first sprint classification of the longest stage over 219 (!!) kilometers from Rodangen to Differdange, eight riders extend. Including the French champion and super sprinter Arnaud Demare. But Johannes Schinnagel is also there. He secured several points in the mountain classification and is showing a great race today.


Top stars show their teeth today!

The classic stars then showed their strengths in the very fast race over this long distance. Tim Wellens and Philippe Gilbert (Lotto-Soudal) launched the final for John Degenkolb. At that time, Schinnagel’s group was caught up again.

Roland Thalmann, Colin Stüssi and Alexis Guerin were in the supposedly top group of around 30 people. On the edge of the wind, the teams from UAE-Emirates, Circus-Wanty and Lotto-Soudal went one better. Then it happened to the Team Vorarlberg Santic riders.

Diego Ulissi (UAE-Emirates) sprints to victory after just under five hours. Second de Gent (Circus-Wanty), ahead of Hoelgaard (Uno-X) and Wellens (Lotto-Soudal). In GC are Roland Thalmann at place 24th. In the lead Diego Ulissi.


Werner Salmen (sporting director): “Today we saw why we race here against people with over a million wages. Our boys had a great attitude and did everything right. They were represented in every group and were there for a long time. Sure, they went “explose” in the final, we have to accept that, but this is how they will continue towards 2021. Maybe something will work again tomorrow – they deserve it! “


Result: https://www.procyclingstats.com/race/tour-de-luxembourg/2020/stage-4


stage overview:

15.09. Luxembourg – Luxembourg 133 km

16.09. Remich – Hesperange 164 km

17.09. Rosport – Schifflange 150 km

18.09. Rodange – Differdange 219 km

19.09. Mersch – Luxembourg 187 km


Race information: https://www.procyclingstats.com/race/tour-de-luxembourg/2020/overview

Organizer: https://www.skodatour.lu/

Numerous television stations a.o. Eurosport report on this tour!


Squad: Roland Thalmann, Colin Stüssi, Alexis Guerin, Johannes Schinnagel, Lukas Meiler, Raphael Kockelmann;