Sensational start of the 71st Int. Austria Cycling Tour!

Team Vorarlberg Santic wins the prologue in Wels ahead of Matthias Brändle by Jannik Steimle and grabs the leading jersey!

The streets in Wels were shaking! Jannik Steimle is responsible for the sensation and wins the prologue over 2,5 kilometers with an hourly average of 55 km/h. Before tomorrow’s first leg he will slip on the red jersey of the overall leader. Steimle wins with one second ahead of his Vorarlberg compatriot Matthias Brändle (Israel Cycling Academy). Thus a secret double victory by Vorarlberg!

Helicopter boy” Jannik Steimle rocks Wels!
Jannik Steimle to his greatest success of his career after his recent overall victory at the Upper Austria Tour:
“Matthias was the favourite time trial specialist for this prologue time trial. Werner Salmen, our sporting director, sent me into the race early in the starting order and set me right. The wind didn’t play into Matthias’ cards in the finale. All the better for me and our team. In any case a mega prelude to the Tour. I am simply overjoyed!

Patrick Schelling with a good start and at the same time with Riccardo Zoidl!
Team captain Patrick Schelling also ranks 22nd, only eight seconds behind, at the front of the group of co-favorites. In the same second he crosses the finish line in downtown Wels with ex-Tour winner Riccardo Zoidl (CCC Team)!


Sunday will be a working day for Team Vorarlberg Santic!
876 kilometres and exactly 16,322 metres of altitude difference await the 18 teams at the “Ritt” through Austria. Tomorrow the first stage from Grießkirchen to Freistadt over 138 kilometres with a lot of work for the team Vorarlberg Santic!

Stage overview:
July 7th Grießkirchen – Freistadt 138 Km – 2147 HM
8. July Zwettl – Wr. Neustadt 177 Km – 2291 HM
9 July Cherry chop – Frohnleiten 176 Km – 3752 HM
10. July Radstadt – Großglockner 103 Km – 3253 HM
11. July Bruck – Kitzbühel 162 Km – 2619 HM
July 12th Kitzbühel – Kitzbüheler Horn 117 Km – 2215 HM

Information at
Live Ticker

Squads: Daniel Geismayr, Patrick Schelling, Gordian Banzer, Roland Thalmann, Colin Stüssi, Jose Manuel Diaz Gallego, Jannik Steimle;

Press Service Team Vorarlberg Santic