Team Vorarlberg open season with rank five in Greece (South Aegean Tour UCI 2.2)

Team Vorarlberg with successful season start at South Aegean Tour UCI 2.2 – Lukas Rüegg on rank five after compact team performance

Rasmus Wallin (Team Suri – Carl Ras) from Denmark wins today’s opening stage of the “Visit South Aegean Island Tour” over 180 kilometers (Rhodes town to Koskinou). He takes the leader’s jersey ahead of Czech Jakub Otruba (ATT-Investment). They save the razor-thin lead of three seconds over the finish line.

In the sprint of the approaching peloton Lukas Rüegg as the best Team Vorarlberg rider finishes stage fifth. Colin Stüssi did the main work and almost single-handedly closed the gap to the escapees. Antoine Berlin (13th), Moran Vermeulen (19th) arrive with the first group. Lukas Meiler (27th), Oscar Cabedo (29th) with twelve seconds difference.

These are also the overall classification ranks before the second stage tomorrow from Rhodes town to Salakos (168 KM). Thus a successful start for the men of the Vorarlberg team.




Squad Team Vorarlberg South Aegean Tour:

Moran Vermeulen, Lukas Meiler, Pirmin Benz, Colin Stüssi, Lukas Rüegg, Oscar Cabedo, Antoine Berlin;