Team Vorarlberg still on top in the third stage of the CRO Race – Lukas Meiler in the top 15.

Copyright photos Team Vorarlberg / according to specification

 Team Vorarlberg still on top in the third stage of the CRO Race – Lukas Meiler in the top 15 – Alexis Guerin currently in second place in the overall mountain ranking!

Today’s 157 km stage from Sinj to Primošten was a first test for the overall class riders in the peleton.

As in the days before, a seven-man leading group broke away from the peloton shortly after the start. Among them was Matthias Reutimann from Team Vorarlberg.

Shortly before the penultimate ascent of the day, the word on Radio Tour was “field closed”. The World Tour teams rode at high speed into the six-kilometre climb. Halfway up the climb, three riders were able to break away from the peloton. One of them was Alexis Guerin, who also won this mountain prize and thus moved up to second place in the overall classification.

Lukas Meiler with a strong performance on the last climb alla “Strade Bianche”!

Today’s stage was decided on the last one and a half kilometres. Unpaved, steep and narrow roads had to be conquered.

Tour de France winner Jonas Vingegaard (Team Jumbo-Visma) took the stage victory ahead of Oscar Onley (Development Team DSM) and Matej Mohorič (Bahrain – Victorious). Lukas Meiler crossed the finish line in 14th place, 12 seconds behind. Thus the Team Vorarlberg pro was the best Continental rider. Strong again Linus Stari. He finished 35th (+40 sec.) in the middle of this world class field.

Tomorrow Friday the 4th stage over 219 kilometres from Biograd na Moru to Crikvenica.

 Stage overview:

1st stage 27.9. / Osijek – Ludbreg / 223.5 km 710 m

2nd stage 28.9. / Otočac – Zadar / 163 km 1170 m

3rd stage 29.9. / Sinj – Primošten / 157 km 1505 m

4th stage 30.9. / Biograd na Moru – Crikvenica / 219 km 2050 m

5th stage 1.10. / Opatija – Labin / 154 km 2920 m

6th stage 2.10. / Sveta Nedelja – Zagreb / 158 km 720 m

CRO RACE LIVE: All stages will be broadcasted live daily from 3 p.m. on Eurosport 1.


Start list:

Squad: Linus Stari, Roland Thalmann, Alexis Guerin, Dominik Amann, Lukas Meiler, Mathias Reutimann;

 Press Service Team Vorarlberg