The Tour of Austria is back! Team Vorarlberg in the lead of Organisation of the 72th Tour of Austria UCI 2.1!

After a three-year break, the Tour of Austria will restart as the Tour of Austria from July 2-6, 2023. An absolute novelty in international cycling is the organization, because the five Austrian Continental Teams take over the management of Austria’s most important cycling event.

It is a unique story in international cycling. Never before have the leading teams of a country joined forces to organize the biggest national tour. The team bosses of Hrinkow Advarics, Team Felbermayr Simplon Wels, Team Vorarlberg, Tirol KTM Cycling Team and WSA KTM Graz P/B Leomo decided together with Wolfgang Konrad, managing director of the Vienna City Marathon, to take over the agendas for the organization of the tour from the Austrian Cycling Federation.

Tour directors are Thomas Kofler from Team Vorarlberg and Mag. Thomas Pupp from Tirol KTM Team, organization manager is Jürgen Schatzmann from Team Vorarlberg. In terms of marketing, Innauer + (f)acts, the agency of ex-ski jumping star Toni Innauer and Wolfgang Schwarzmann, has been brought on board. The name is also new, as the 72nd International Tour of Austria will be known as the Tour of Austria. The five-day tour will be held in UCI Class 2.1.

Thomas Kofler: “For me personally it is a new and great challenge, but above all a unique and meaningful story for the re-start of the Tour of Austria. It is actually almost unbelievable when fellow competitors become partners overnight for a good cause. The Tour is of enormous importance for us as teams to be able to present ourselves in Austria. Especially for the young riders in our teams who want to recommend themselves for higher tasks. It has been shown that if you move from talking to doing, you can also implement corresponding projects. This took courage, because not all doors are open after a three-year break. But we have firmly decided to do it in the interests of Austrian cycling.”


The stages at a glance:

Team presentation July 1 Vorarlberg (Dornbirn – Martkplatz).

1st stage, July 2: Vorarlberg (Dornbirn – Dornbirn)

2nd stage, July 3: Tyrol (St. Anton – Innsbruck)

3rd stage, July 4: East Tyrol – Salzburg (Sillian – St. Johann/Alpendorf)

4th stage, July 5: Salzburg – Upper Austria (St. Johann/Alpendorf – Steyr)

5th stage, July 6: Lower Austria (Ybbs an der Donau – Sonntagberg)


Best regards and more informations on